The things no one told me

I’ve written a lot in the last ten years, my Google drive is littered with unfinished but promising ideas.  I hope to one day revisit those ideas.  So many times I was discouraged and gave up.  I finally finished something, the product of that being Gray’s Skye, and I am proud of that.  I’m sure if you read it there are a few typos and mistakes but so what.  I’ve seen those things in mainstream books.  I am so grateful I finally told a story.  I think my husband was beginning to think I just claimed to write so I could hoard the good electronics.

It has now been a bit over 3 weeks since I hit publish and there are things I didn’t know.  I didn’t know how addicted I would become to checking kdp, although I’m only checking 2 or 3 times a day now instead of every 10 minutes.  I didn’t know that people I trusted would lie to me “hey I’m going to go buy your book right now” and not realize I could see live stats that said they didn’t.  I didn’t know that I would be devastated by the same thing.  I didn’t write it to be the next big thing.  I wrote it because I wanted to write and I think it’s a good story.  I don’t expect to be a best seller with book #1 but seriously people…be honest.

I probably shouldn’t publish this but I’m going to.  If we have a personal relationship you do not have to read my book or even buy it, just don’t lie.

Leave a Reply

